The National Association of Automobile Clubs of Canada
L’Association nationale des clubs automobiles du Canada

Hobbyist of the Year Award


Once a year the National Association of Automobile Clubs of Canada presents the ‘NAACC Hobbyist of the Year Award’ to a person who has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to the Collector Car Hobby in Canada.


  The NAACC Hobbyist of the Year Award is presented for Dedication To Excellence In Perpetuating North American Automotive Tradition. This prestigious award celebrates auto enthusiasts on multiple levels, including character, community involvement, integrity, and a level of excellent presentation of their vehicle or involvement with a club, a Concours or a major contribution of time and effort in bettering the collector vehicle hobby in Canada.


This presentation was initiated by the NAACC in 2014

  The Cobble Beach Concours d’Elegance, held in Owen Sound Ontario Canada, has been selected as the official NAACC Hobbyist of the Year presentation location for 2017. Please visit the NAACC website to view previous recipients.




The 2016 recipient is Mr. Carl Becker from Sannich British Columbia. Carl founded (CMAFF) the Canadian Model A Ford Foundation and is the current president. He is a past judging committee  member of the Model A Ford Club of America. The NAACC is proud to recognize Carl Becker as a recipient of this prestigious award.


Through Carl’s and other Board members efforts  CMAFF has been instrumental in updating the Model A Ford Club of America Canadian judging guidelines.


Literally, hundreds of hours have been dedicated to this project.



2015 Steve Plunkett


Founder and Host of the Fleetwood County Cruize, London Ontario


Steve is a major Canadian car collector / museum owner specializing in Cadillac




2014 Robert McLeese, Ontario


Founder and Chairman of the Cobble Beach Concours d’Elegance


International Concours Judge, collector




2013 Gilbert Bureau, Quebec


Gilbert is the founder of the VAQ , Vintage Automobile Club of Québec. (1974)


Editor of the VAQ magazine for more than 40 years.


Concours Judge, collector







©2015 National Association of Automobile Clubs of Canada

NAACC Corporate Secretary  529 Princess Street, Estavan Sask. S4A  2E8

NAACC Headquarters Office   3512 Marine, Belcarra BC V3H 4R8